If you’re a nurse or nursing student and are arrested for a DWI, you may be subject to a revocation of your nursing license or suspension of your driver’s license from the Texas Board of Nursing and Department of Public Safety, respectively.
If you’re a nursing student, you need to be transparent and report your arrest. While you may not be able to work for a short interim, a San Marcos DWI attorney can assist you in beating or reducing your charge so you can experience a more positive outcome.
If you are a nurse, a DWI conviction may cause you to lose your livelihood and your driving privileges. The Texas Board of Nursing, which is responsible for the licensure and renewal of licenses for nurses, has the power to revoke a license. So, you need to rely on legal representation if you’re facing this charge.
Again, an attorney can attack the prosecutor’s evidence to reduce or dismiss a DWI charge. The legal limit for blood alcohol concentration (BAC) in Texas is 0.08. If the evidence supporting a BAC is successfully challenged, you can get a DWI reduced from a Class A misdemeanor to a Class B misdemeanor crime.
Getting a DWI dismissed may require challenging the reason for a traffic stop or attacking the administration and results of standardized field sobriety tests (SFSTs) or breathalyzers.
Remember that it is worth fighting a DWI. No scenario exists where pleading guilty at a first court appearance is recommended. Both constitutional and procedural defenses can be developed and explored. You don’t want to settle on a conviction.
A first-time DWI charge in the Lone Star State is a class B misdemeanor unless aggravating factors exist. Besides professional complications, nursing students and nurses charged with DWI may face jail time, a permanent criminal conviction, thousands of dollars in fines, and a driver’s license suspension.
A DWI with a BAC that is below .15 is defined as a class B misdemeanor. The maximum fine is $3,000, with a maximum jail sentence of 6 months. If convicted, you’ll get your driver’s license suspended.
A DWI with a BAC of .15 or higher is defined as a class A misdemeanor crime. The maximum fine is $6,000, and the maximum jail sentence is one year. The conviction for this offense is permanent and ends in a driver’s license suspension. Also, this misdemeanor conviction can lead to the revocation or suspension of a nursing license.
Nurses and nursing hopefuls who are charged with a DWI with a child passenger in the car face a state jail felony. A maximum fine of $10,000 may be imposed with a maximum incarceration of 24 months in a Texas state jail facility. A conviction for the charge is permanent, resulting in a driver’s license suspension and the collateral damage that is associated with being a convicted felon.
Ethical standards for Texas nurses and nursing students are presented in the state’s administrative code. All individuals in the nursing profession are required to follow the Texas Nursing Practice Act (NPA). Any failure to meet these standards can jeopardize your nursing license. If you receive a criminal conviction, you’re at risk for failing to follow these standards.
That’s because a nurse or nursing student is responsible for the health and well-being of other people. Therefore, they are held to a higher standard.
While nurses or nursing students do not have to report a DWI arrest to the Texas Board of Nursing, they are required to report a DWI conviction. Otherwise, they can face particularly harsh penalties. A nurse or nursing student has the right to legal representation during a Texas Board of Nursing investigation and disciplinary proceeding.
Are you a nursing student? Do you work as a nurse? Or do you plan to enter college and become a nurse with a DWI charge? If so, contact a DWI attorney in Texas if you’ve been arrested for DWI. Contact the Mendoza Law Firm in San Marcos, Texas now.
Take the first step to protect your future. Tell us about your case to receive
a free and confidential consultation.